What is an Enterprise Architecture Blueprint ?

25 February 2009

I recently saw a discussion about the word Blueprint in regard to Enterprise Architecture which reminded me of confusion I’ve encountered with some of my clients.

I regard the word Blueprint to be another name for the Future State (to Be ) Enterprise Architecture model content. this is my preferred meaning.

I have also worked in an EA team that regarded the strategy, principles, Goals, Objectives and requirements as the Blueprint layer on top of the usual 4 EA architecture domain models (i.e. Business, Information, Application and Infrastructure Architecture models).

In regard to the same discussion, I have learnt about FSAM which uses word Blueprint with my preferred meaning.

FSAM can be see and downloaded from http://www.fsam.gov/index.php.  I recommend that Enterprise Architects take a close look.

Leave a Reply

